About the Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board

The Adoption Leadership Board (ALB) was established in 2014 to provide leadership to the adoption system and drive improvements in performance. In 2018 the Board became the Adoption and Special Guardianship Leadership Board (ASGLB), with a remit to cover previously looked after children subject to adoption or special guardianship orders. CVAA has a contract with the DfE to provide a management and secretariat service for the ALB.

The ASGLB is made up of 12 senior officials from key organisations in the adoption and permanence system in England. This includes colleagues from local authorities, voluntary adoption agencies, the Department for Education, and independent experts.

The ASGLB is chaired by Andrew Christie CBE, who was appointed by the Education Secretary in March 2016. Andrew has over 40 years’ experience on the front line of children’s social care and is also Chair of the Birmingham Children’s Trust. Previously, Andrew has acted as Chair of the Lambeth Safeguarding Children Board, the Executive Director of Children’s Services for London’s Tri-borough area, and as Chair of Health, Care and Additional Needs Policy Committee at ADCS.


Andrew Christie
Stuart Gallimore
Chair of Health, Care and Additional Needs Policy Committee
Charlotte Ramsden
Chief Executive
Sue Armstrong-Brown
John Simmonds
Chief Executive Officer
Annie Crombie
Director of children’s social care, practice and workforce
Katy Willison, Tabitha Brufal
Chair of the Children and Young People’s Board
Cllr Lucy Nethsingha
Chief Executive Officer
Anthony Douglas
Professor of Social Work
Julie Selwyn
Judicial Observer
Mr Justice MacDonald
Professional Adviser to the Board
Mark Owers